Methodology

Methodology

An innovative approach based on the integration of various scientific methodologies is developed in GeoRisCA. Methods from geology, geophysics, geomorphology, geography, and anthropology are associated in order to provide a realistic image of the risk in the target region.
 

The developed methodology at the local scale combines hazard and vulnerability factors, as well as risk perception indicators. The collected quantitative and qualitative data are standardised and compiled into a Geographical Information System (GIS) according to a specific weighting.
The precise methodology is based both on the literature and on the advice of experts of risk assessment and local stakeholders.
 

The risk assessment is defined at the regional and local (urban) scales; moreover, GeoRisCA provides an evolving picture of the risk level, by taking into account the variations of the geohazards and the vulnerability factors and the coping mechanisms that people developed in order to face geohazards.
 

A series of maps as decision-making tools will be produced, highlighting various aspects of the risk, depending on the hazards type, the scale and the potential use.

Méthodologie

Méthodologie

Une approche innovante basée sur l’intégration de méthodologies scientifiques variées sont développées dans GeoRisCA.

Les méthodes issues de la géologie, de la géophysique, de la géomorphologie, de la géographie et de l’anthropologie sont associées afin de fournir une image réaliste du niveau de risque de la région étudiée.


La méthodologie développée à l’échelle locale combine des indicateurs d’aléa et de vulnérabilité, ainsi que des éléments reflétant le niveau la perception du risque. Les données quantitatives et qualitatives collectées sont standardisées et compilées dans un

Système d’Informations Géographiques (SIG) selon une pondération spécifique.


La méthodologie précise est basée à la fois sur la littérature scientifique et sur les conseils des experts en évaluation des risques et des parties prenantes locales.


L’évaluation du risque est définie à l’échelle régionale et locale (sites urbains) ; de plus, GeoRisCA fournit une image évolutive du niveau de risque, en prenant en compte les variations des facteurs d’aléas et de vulnérabilité, ainsi que les mécanismes développés par les populations pour faire face à des événements catastrophiques.


Une série de cartes définies comme des outils d’aide à la décision sera produite, et soulignera différents aspects du risque, en fonction du type d’aléa, de l’échelle et de l’objectif visé.